Marietta College Faculty Development Committee

Faculty Development programs are designed to help strengthen faculty members' disciplinary ties by supporting projects in the "scholarship of discovery" (research) and the "scholarship of teaching" (ways to transmit knowledge and excite future scholars). The projects should benefit the faculty member and support the college's core values.

Awards are competitive and recommendations submitted to the Provost are based on proposals submitted to the Faculty Development Committee.

The Faculty Development Committee prefers to receive applications/proposals as electronic submissions.

If you choose to submit your proposal in hard copy, deliver 10 copies to Almuth Tschunko, BART 366.

Suggestions for electronic submission:

  1. Submitted materials should be in Microsoft Word, Microsoft Excel or Adobe Acrobat (pdf) format. Submission in other file formats may delay or prevent consideration of the proposal. If possible, all materials for the submission should be included in a single file.
  2. A single copy of the electronic version of the proposal should be sent to the chair of the Faculty Development Committee, Almuth Tschunko (  If the attached file can be opened, you will receive a return e-mail confirming the receipt of the proposal.
  3. The e-mail accompanying the attached file should clearly state what type of proposal is being submitted.

If you have any questions about the electronic submission procedure, please contact Almuth Tschunko by e-mail ( or by phone x4747.

Deadlines: 4 p.m. on the dates indicated

September 16, 2013: Load Reductions 1 [for Sp'14 or F'14] (electronic)
October 21, 2013: Minigrants / Mentor Grants, Round 1 (electronic)
November 4, 2013: Sabbaticals (electronic)
January 27, 2014: Research Award
January 27, 2014: Load Reductions 2 [for AY 2014-2015] (electronic)
January 27, 2014: Innovative Teaching Award
February 3, 2014: Minigrants / Mentor Grants, Round 2 (electronic)
February 17, 2014: Professional Improvement Grant (electronic)
March 31, 2014: Minigrants / Mentor Grants, Round 3 (electronic)

Committee Members

Almuth Tschunko, Chair
Renee Bell
Brian Brewer
Dennis Kuhl
David Mead
Mark Schaefer
Steve Spilatro

Beth McNally, Academic Grants Office